Bloody Heck!

Yesterday, I got some blood drawn, just to check up on things and I asked for my doctor to check for gluten intolerance. I think this is a way to tell, am I right? In the mean time, the past couple of days, my appetite hasn’t been so present… this is weird for me. And definately a sign something’s up! I figured I’d be more hungry because a lot of products I’ve been eating are more corn and rice-based, with less fiber, though I am having a lot of fruits and veggies as calorie-sources. My aunt took me out to eat at one of my favorite Mexican restaurants, which is mostly vegetarian/vegan-friendly. Rare, where I’m from. It was easy, as far as I could tell, to order because they served corn tortilla chips and I asked for corn tortillas, instead of flour. Very chewy, though. I’ve got to say I’m not a huge corn-lover. I love my veggies, but corn- eh, I’d rather pick it out of my food, than try to enjoy it. But, corn-products… we’ll see. My aunt left and as I dog-sit for her, she got me some rice cereal. Thanks, but it has barley and malt ingredients=no good. I’m doing a test-run at a gluten-free diet, and so far, it’s been good. Quinoa, soy proteins, fruits, veggies, beans… all things I love. I’ve been doing a lotttt of research, via the internet and talking to people with CD experience! Thanks to those of you who can relate and have shown me that!

The other night for dinner I had some BBQ tempeh strips (with Amy’s bbq sauce + more for dipping) with a sliced tomater and sauteed peppers and onions.
bbq tempeh

Today for lunch my mom helped me chop a boat-load of veggies for a stir-fry with tempeh, Braggs and chili sauce. Sister 2 painted this bowl for me at one of those pottery places, because she knows I love using chopsticks… it has it’s own “holder!”
stir-fry

It’s orange! My color, favorite!

My parents got home from Ireland on Wednesday night, zonked! They had an incredible trip, but I’m still waiting to see pictures. They wrote down new, cute little phrases those silly Irish people use and are trying to incorporate them into everyday language here. hehe. They brought me some… salt-and-pepper shakers! The black pepper-shaker has a little shamrock on it’s butt. I don’t know why (yes I do- it’s the eyes!), but they remind me of Jasper. Maybe I’ll shake him to see if anything edible comes out… er, um, let’s not be silly by what I just said…
sheep

Alright, folks. There you have it. An update from yours, truly. I’ll let ya know what I hear about the blood work! I’m kind of hoping it is, in fact, CD just so I can pin-point the problem! Yes, that’d make it a little more difficult, especially eating out, but I figure once I load up my pantry with g-f foods, I won’t have to continuously search the internet or read the labels of the foods already on my shelves and fridge! Very meticulous!

I deposited my check after the blood-bath work. I also watched Sleepless in Seattle and settled in with a giant bowl of popcorn (my favorite movie, with my favorite type of corn, and my 2nd-favorite pop!) during a rainstorm the other day. Ah, life is grand!

8 Comments

Filed under books, Celiac Disease, collections, dogs, groceries, grub, movies, optimism, travel

8 responses to “Bloody Heck!

  1. Haha, cute sheep :0)

    I love “Sleepless in Seattle” – SUCH a cute film!! Enjoy!!

    Saw your comment on my blog – I’m glad that you purchased that same gf flour!! It’s fabulous!! The recipe DID call for xanthan gum, so I used it (the recipe only called for 1 tablespoon xanthan gum).

  2. I hope the blood work will help figure out what is making you have the symptoms you are experiencing. Also, I love the bowl your sis made you with the built in chop stick holders… so cute and of course the sheep from Ireland are adorable as well.

  3. Ah “Sleepless in Seattle”… classic 🙂

  4. glidingcalm

    Your BBQ tempeh looks sodelicious! and i love that you said “tomater”! ha!
    Have a good one Orangepop!

  5. erica

    Ooh la la, that BBQ tempeh is calling my name!

  6. I hope you find out soon lady! I know how frustrating stomach issues can be…my lactose acted up like whoa years ago. Oh and like erica, bbq tempeh has my stomach growling!

  7. What happens when you have gluten intolerance?
    I’ve noticed that my stomach bloats when I have bread, and it doesn’t sit well either. Sometimes I hear murmur noises – actually, it happens to me lots after I eat. I think I have IBS. Wow, tmi tmi! =D lol

    I’m going to backtrack on your entries about gluten, because I missed a few days of your posts. Happy Tuesday!

    And, I love the bowl. Are you Asian? I ask because I tend to number my aunt and uncles and I am Asian. =D

  8. Hahah, nevermind. You aren’t Asian. =D

Leave a Reply

