Bizzy Me!

So! I wore my newly-exchanged shoes to work out on Tuesday and I was still feeling a little squished in them… so I looked at the box: 8. I looked inside the tongue on the shoe: 8. When I did the exchange, I brought the 8’s from home, along with 8.5’s from the store, which I wanted… the guy at the register did the lil’ transaction, handed me back the 8’s & I went (happily) on my way… until Tuesday after my workout! Geesh! I guess I’ll be going back again. Until then, I’ll have to keep them sparklin’ clean!

*This is what I’m looking at, while I blog to you:

Milo Hi, Milo!

Tuesday, I had another great day! I went to the gym & did the Arc trainer, lifted arm weights & did some abs/core. Then, I went home & made another smoothie. This one was AWESOME! I didn’t get a picture, but it was a pretty pink color, which made it more appetizing than my last effort with the green one! I used this protein powder (13 g. protein + anti-oxidants), added some extra frozen fruit, a couple of T. of sogurt, ice, some water & whiiizzzzzzz…. dee-lish!

I also made this for dinner:

tofu + veg + quinoa 

^ Mesquite-grilled tofu with mixed veggies (broccoli, brussels sprouts, carrots, snap-peas, mushrooms, onions) over quinoa, Bragg’s & garlic-roasted pumpkin seeds <– a nice touch!

dsc04238

^ I got hungry a little while later, so I had this snack, consisting of:

packet of plain oatmeal, some Chia Goodness cereal

Now, I am definitely not one to waste food. But yesterday… just look what I came up with & tell me if you would do the same:

I started with this packet: dsc04245

…it looked promising, being hemp protein & full of goodness

 

 

 

 

 

 

…& I added some frozen fruit (including peaches & a banana), some sogurt, ice & water… to get this narstiness:

dsc04248 BLEGHH!!! Again, I wanted to like it & I hated the thought of all those good ingredients (& $$$) going down the drain, but one dip-of-my-finger in this blend put a sour look on my face and I had it thrown down the garbage disposal before I had any other reaction! The dogs didn’t even get a chance to sniff it out & look pitiful enough for a handout… so I went back to a tried-and-true standby: Spirutein (vanilla flavor) soy protein powder: dsc04249

Then, I added a banana, some (maybe 10 or so?) almonds, sogurt, water, ice, cinnamon & cocoa powder to come up with a much better outcome:

dsc04253

Then, off to work, where it was a total MAD HOUSE because:

  • It was “Senior Day”, where folks aged 60+ got 10% off everything in the store
  • Brendan Brazier came to talk about his book (Thrive Diet) & products (Vega nutrition)… check him/it all out here. After the lecture let out, people swarmed the store to try some of the products & get their lil’ paws on the goods!

It was a successful day, for sure… just very busy! Finally, I had this to get me through & make me feel a lil’ spunky:

ginger kombucha Ginger Kombucha!

I’ll update about today, which started very early with a staff meeting before we opened the store this morning. It’s sure to be another good day!

Happy New-President-Day!!!

Milo says so, too:

dsc042431

7 Comments

Filed under books, errands, exercise, grub, optimism, work

7 responses to “Bizzy Me!

  1. ONLY use the Living Harvest brand of hemp protein powder if you’re going to try hemp protein powder – the others are terrible.

    Good luck with the shoes!!

  2. I don’t blame you for throwing that smoothie away. I don’t think I would have even got past the look of it to give it a taste test!
    Hey! Third time lucky with the shoes!

  3. sb!

    glad things seem to be going fairly well. did you get everything taken care of with your school/student loans stuff?

  4. sammyss

    Another cute pet! That tofu dish looks delish. I saw on one of your other posts you put some of the Chia Goodness on yogurt- I tried it today, so good! Hey that’s cool about Brendan, he’s actually Canadian too 🙂

  5. i wish i had…1/2 as much good food as you 😉

  6. milo! so cute 🙂

    kombucha!!!1 my favorite

    sorry about the hemp smoothie – i use spirutein too, it is my favorite. i buy the little packets because i can never decide on just one flavor.

    yum, i love your tofu quinoa bowl!

Leave a Reply

