Changes & Attitudes & Contests

Jimmy Buffett, anyone?! (though I’m in a tropical climate, I am not a huge fan of “Cheeseburgers in Paradise” or anything of that nature!)

I need to change my heading picture because I am successfully off of java. It’s been 2 WEEKS! Also, it’s the same with artificial-ness. I can hardly believe it, based on the fact that I’ve been soo reliant on the 2 for beverages! At first, boy-oh-boy I wanted to pad my head with pillows it was pounding so hard. This lasted for probably 4 days-straight! Yikes…bikes! (movie reference, anyone?) I’d kill for something bubbly & flavorful, too. Instead, I drank a lot of water, Propel, Kombucha, & tea! I’d sweeten my tea with Agave or Stevia (at work. Isn’t it nice that a workplace has organic turbinado, date syrup, Agave, honey & Stevia as sweetener choices, instead of pink, blue, yellow & white packets?!) Some new tea:

tea < that’s right, it’s decaf!

ALSO, I met with a nutritionist last week, too, to get a look at my diet to see how I can add healthful foods, what I need more/less of & gain more structure. Basically, I love her style! She stresses (for me, right now, trying to gain a few pounds!): HIGH fat, carb, protein, as well as nutrient-dense foods with lots of vitamins & minerals! (I just wrote minterals) Whole Foods. Plant-based. I think everyone should feel good great about what they eat! 

I’m going NUTS! (…or I am a nut?)

nutty seedy side nuts

nuts & seeds < this is about 4 oz of nuts (~ 1 & 1/3 c.)

With the combination of eliminating coffee, artificial sweeteners, & adding healthy fats & more food, in general, I feel SO GOOD. Not as tired, anymore, actually. Very energetic & positive. My skin is clearing & doesn’t seem as “rough” (looking or feeling). I eat at least every 3-hours Chocolate-Covered Vegan might call it eating like a “Hobbit!” I’m also incorporating more low-impact exercising (yoga, walking, body-weight exercises) & less gym-like cardio sessions! Britney Spears Elliptical, I’m no longer a slave for you!

We even looked at things like salad that I enjoy & saw how I can beef it up to make it more as a meal & not just vegetables. I’ve tried this & it is SO satisfying. Here are some recent combos:

#1:  veggies: spinach & mixed greens, tomato, carrots & red pepper; protein: edamame & goat cheese (some dairy in there, too); fat:  pumpkin seeds & flax oil… plus, the 3rd picture is what I accompanied it with: Triscuits (Rosemary & Olive Oil flavor= starch) with hummus (for fat & protein)

salad mixed up salad

all mixed up –> meal

#2: veggies: spinach & greens, carrots, onion, red peppers, sprouts; protein: marinated tofu (with Annie’s Asian marinade); fat: avocado, pumpkin seeds, flax oil; alongside, I had some Wheat Thins with cheese (for protein & dairy) & salsa

salad lunch

Oh, & I got a new phone because mine would die during a 6-minute call, no matter what… & that’s a maximum! I call it the “Element of phones” because, like the car, Honda Element, it grows on you. It’s boxy (& foxy!). It’s odd. But functional! I reveal, to you, the BLITZ, from Verizon:

small phone expanded phone

^ made for texting. It’s a bright blue color (I know it’s hard to tell here), & it’s the only color it comes in, otherwise, I’d get it in… hmm, orange, maybe?! YES, orange! My background is no longer a piece of a puzzle, like it shows here, but a bottle of Fanta orange pop. Surprised? (Oh, nutritionist, you would not like me! Except this has been cut, too… wah!) 

So, due to the fact I no longer consume coffee, I need a new header. My attitude has developed into spunky & laid-back, at the same time I guess, so… any cool ideas are welcomed!!! Also, I want to make a “Recipe” tab– any help on this is much appreciated, as well… you can send ideas on my comments OR here in an e-mail! Thanks for taking care of a clueless-sistah! 

***I’ll make this into a challenge: anyone who can come up with a good design, idea, or helpful tips will be taken into consideration, but I’ll choose a LUCKY person & send ya a prize (to be determined, by me). There are NO LOSERS, just bad ideas (kidding, you all have wonderful, creative ideas!!!). SO GET TO IT!!! I’ll leave this extended, until I decide to close it & find something I really want to RAVE ABOUT!***

13 Comments

Filed under optimism

13 responses to “Changes & Attitudes & Contests

  1. Hooray for no more java!! And hooray for an abundance of healthy fats as well 😀

  2. those salads look sooo good! goat cheese and marinated tofu! you know how to do it well!

    hurrah for a new phone too!

  3. Oh yes to tea! Great job! And I love your tasty eats! Mmmmm… tofu!

  4. Well done on giving up the coffee & artificial sweetners! Glad you feel the nutritionist is helping you 😀
    Cool phone – I’d like pink 😉

  5. Aww, thanks for the shout-out :o). Welcome to the Hobbit club!!! Judging by the looks of your meals, it seems you’re already a pro ;o)

  6. i’m so so so so SO glad this whole thing is working out for you! :)! isn’t it relieving that you could ween off of the java & have noticeable, positive changes in the process?

    cute phone, too. i find that full keyboards making texting way too fun. (hence, unlimited texting plan.)

  7. I’m so proud of you – no coffee or anything artificial. That is huge! I’m still a coffee addict. I don’t know if I could live without…well, I could. I just don’t want to yet. 🙂

    I’m not sure about the recipe tab, but Zesty Cook designed my blog header, and he’s done several others as well. I told him a few ideas, and right away he came up with the perfect design. Love Zesty!

    All your food looks delicious and so well balanced. Your nutritionist should be very proud!

  8. You know propel has artificial sweeteners right?

    • RAWR! NO! Well, they’re gone now. Good thing. I saw “glucose” blah blah blah, but didn’t pay real attention. I know things like FiberOne, etc. have them and those don’t appeal to me.

  9. wow 2 weeks! that is so impressive 😀 i love kombucha and tea – my favorite beverages.

    your salads! oh my goodness they look gorgeousss. i love the tofu especially! and so healthy, nourishing and well balanced. i love these types of salads that substantial and not just filler!

    i fully support your non-articial sweteners/100% pure lifestyle change [i feel the same same!] but as for your header…maybe try to focus on the title of your blog? like your most loved foods. tofu, tea, granola, or whatever it is. a picture of a simple coffee mug of tea alongside a piece of paper/magazine displaying something that describes you or your vegetarian lifestyle? i will keep thinking 🙂

    have a fabulous weekend girly!

  10. I gave up artificial sweeteners awhile back. They were causing some intestinal disturbances. Once they were gone, things got MUCH better. I could never give up coffee though… that stuff is heaven.

Leave a Reply

