Ketch-up!

I mean, CATCH UP! Because there ain’t no KETCHUP here! …instead… 

close up

Did I lure you in? …keep reading to see more!

I’m sorry I have been a naughty, absent bloggermama, but I’ve been pretty good about commenting on everyone else’s lovely blog-iggities! Thanks for keeping my interest & taking up all my free time, GOSH! No, I love it!

…continuing from Valentine’s Day, like I said before, my dad & I got pedicures. This is a picture of the little Oriental ladies (who know us by name) rubbing our dogs. Please disregard the scary Casper-legs. I’m working on it. My dad is drooling. See us in all our luxury:

pedicure HA! My color is called “Wild Child”– a bright green-ish… my dad picked it out. I guess I’ll be ready for St. Patty’s Day!

I’ve been taking lots of yummy food-photos (the photos aren’t yummy, but what’s in them has been!) Here are some oatbran breakfasts, as of late:

dsc04493 dsc04575 dsc04576 < with banana, soy, pb & granola; again with banana, nuts, soy & banana… with my mom’s cute little cocktail napkins (she thinks she’s funny & this is so her…); & with soy, strawberries & nut butter. I really forget what is in each, but they had cinnamon (of course!) & were all good & truly solidify my love for oatbran.

P.S. That’s TEAnot COFFEE!!! Weeee!!!

dsc04492 < my Multi-vitamin of choice & Calcium-Magnesium-D(3) supplement, in strawberry-flavored liquid form (milky, but I like flava’-flave!)

dsc04577 hand ques jas + ques < Tempeh Quesadillas, based off of this recipe, from Vegetarian Times (online), but I didn’t broil it with cheese on top. I added peppers, onions, spinach, mozzarella, tempeh, tomatoes, salsa in a whole-wheat tortilla; cooked it in the skillet; served it alongside homemade guacamole (just avocado, salsa, onion & red pepper flakes!) & blue corn tortilla chips. A nice lunch, with Jasper in the background, contemplating the meaning of life… or something like that.

Friday the 13th was my grandpa’s birthday, so on that Sunday the 15th, we had the family over to celebrate that & Lover’s-Day on the 14th. (that was out of order, sorry) I made a cake from Vegan With a Vengeance: 

Raspberry Blackout Cake with Ganache-y Frosting– here it is, in the process/layers:

1st jam layer 1st frosting layer layer 2 jam finished 

TA-DAAAA!!!

My mom is way creative (hello, teacher!) so we had a “circus-theme”, bringing out the inner child of my grandpa. Our table cloth was (*homemade*) zebra-print, & we had circus animals & clowns/ring-leaders on the table, too. Here’s the arrangement I made. I’m so 6-years-old:

circus RAWR!!!

jim < He likes the gorilla

jim tootin his horn < tootin’ his own horn= ring leader?

with flowers slice of cake

… this cake turned out so moist & delicious! If you have the cookbook & have a reason to make it (& even if you don’t!), DO IT– you will not be disappointed!!! It was a major hit, if I do say so myself (& I do)! The party was great, too! Having family around is always a fabulous, beautiful thing, don’t ya agree? Even if you don’t always get along with them all, the love is still there! For sure!

Okay, this post is way-long, but I have some other great kitchen-makings that I feel really great about showing you! SOONER THAN LAST TIME, I will show you!

Until then, enjoy your weekends. What are you doing?! I hope it’s warming up in some wretched parts of the country! I’m sending warm wishes to you all- in your hearts & on your bodacious bods!

 

 


10 Comments

Filed under books, dogs, family, grub, holiday, winter

10 responses to “Ketch-up!

  1. Erin

    YUUUUUUUUUM is all I have to say about that ciz-zake. 🙂

    And don’t worry about the pale-thing…even though I was born and raised here in SoFlo, I’m as white as a ghost. Always have been. I just tell people I’m a Cullen.

    MUAH!!! ❤

  2. Oh yeah, that looks so much better than ketchup 😉

  3. AMAZING CAKE!!! Perfect for a celebration.

    Girl, I embrace my paleness – you should do the same 😀

  4. nutritiousisdelicious

    Fabulous quesadilla! The cake looks great….of course!

  5. Matt

    The veggie quesadilla has nothing on my shrimp quesadillas! That cake does though!

  6. Aw, sweet grandpa – his cake looks amazing. Love all the oat bran action. Have a good weekend. Husband I are going to a Mardi Gras party. Fun fun : )

  7. whoa yum!!! that cake looks amazing! chocolate and raspberry is a divine combination 🙂

  8. foodsthatfit

    I want some of that cake! Looks delicious!

  9. yay youre back 🙂 that cake looks amazing an dit looks liek you had a wonderful time ❤

  10. tempeh quesadillas?! WHATTTTTTTT. you are a culinary genius lil mama!

Leave a Reply

